Transportation

The Board provides transportation to district students in Grades K-8 who live more than 2 miles from their school of attendance and in Grades 9-12 who live more than 2.5 miles from their school of attendance.

Prior to the opening of school in September, each student will be mailed a bus pass. Students must keep his/her pass on them at all times in order to board their bus. Drivers will, from time to time, request to see a student's bus pass. Students will board and leave buses only at these assigned stops. In case of an emergency, if any student needs to ride a different bus, a written letter from the parent/guardian must be submitted to the main office of the school in person and they must present photo identification (see link to board policy for details). If approved the main office will issue the student a one-day temporary pass that must be given to the driver.

  • Elementary students are asked to have their bus pass taped to the inside of their book bag or backpack. Middle and high school students should keep them either in their book bag, a purse or wallet.    Drivers may ask to see a student's pass any time they board a bus.

  • If your child loses the bus pass, please have them immediately notify the main office of the school they are attending or contact the transportation office and request a replacement.

  • All requests to change your student's regularly assigned bus stop must be submitted in writing by the parent/guardian in person to the Supervisor of Transportation, as outlined in the board policy. A copy of the policy can be viewed by checking the link on this page.    The letter must include the reason for the request along with a daytime and evening contact telephone number for the parent/guardian.   If the request can be accommodated it may take 3-5 school days for the change to take effect.   Drivers are not permitted to make any changes to our established routes.   Any requests for changes must follow the procedures stated above .

  • Emergency closings, due to inclement weather, will be announced commencing at 6:00 AM - 8:30 AM on radio station WCTC (1450 AM) or WMGQ (98.3 FM), New Jersey 101.5 FM radio, as well as WABC-TV Channel 7, News 12 New Jersey, and North Brunswick Community TV Channel 15. In the event of a weather related early dismissal, the radio stations will also make the appropriate announcement. Elementary class mothers will call to inform parents. Also, you can call the Board Office at (732) 289-3000 then press 1070 for any closing announcements or visit our Web site at www.nbtschools.org . The decision to close school early due to inclement weather will be made by approximately 10:00 AM and announced on the radio stations listed above.

  • In the event of a delayed opening, please refer to the school calendar for your child
    's school hours.   Bus pick-ups will run 90 minutes delayed.   For example, if your child
    's normal pick-up time is 8:15 AM, the adjusted time would be 9:45 AM. This schedule will also be followed for special needs in and out of district students as well as private and parochial school students that have bus transportation.

 


 

FAQ

 

1.      Are buses equipped with seat belts? Do the students have to wear the seat belts?

As required by NJ State Law (39:3B-11) , all buses are equipped with seat belts and we strongly encourage all students to wear their seat belt. The driver is only required to make sure all seat belts are in working condition. It is the parents' responsibility to talk to their child to make sure they use the seat belt whenever they are on the bus.

2.      How do I know what bus my child rides on a daily basis?

Students will be mailed a bus pass prior to the start of school. Students must have this pass with them at all times in order to board their bus. Drivers will make random requests to see a student's bus pass. Students failing to show their bus pass when requested can be removed from the bus by a building administrator.

3.      Each bus pass will list the pick up location and the scheduled time for the student’s pick up.

Due to unpredictable traffic patterns throughout the district, bus pick-up time can vary from day to day, students must be at their assigned bus stop 10 minutes prior to the scheduled time.

North BrunswickTownshiphas a noise ordinance that prohibits drivers from using their horn to signal they are at your bus stop.

4.      Do I need to be at the bus stop to accept my child from the bus in the afternoon?

For the safety and well being of our students, all pre-school and kindergarten students must have an adult meet them at the bus stop for all bus drop offs.

In the event an older sibling is on the same route and the parent/guardian has approved that sibling to be responsible to walk the kindergarten student home, a signed letter must be submitted and on file in the transportation department from the parent/guardian. There must be consistency in the person responsible for the kindergarten student. For safety purposes, this should not be a different person each day.

 

If the parent or designee is not present at the bus stop, the driver will contact a member of the transportation department who will make an attempt to reach the parent by telephone. Should this fail the driver will return the child to the originating school. The parent will then be required to pick up the student there.

In the event there is no administrative personnel at the school to receive the child, the child shall be brought to the local police department.

5.      What if I need my child to ride on a different bus?

Students are only permitted to ride a different bus in the case of an emergency. A copy of the district policy for transportation can be found on the district web site at:

http://www.nbtschools.org/nbts/GeneralInformation/Transportation

 

6.      What if I need to change my child’s bus stop?

Drivers do NOT have the authority to change routes, stops or times. If you need any changes to your child’s busing you MUST come in person to the transportation office and present a PHOTO ID along with a written request for any changes. To insure proper notification to all involved in the bus route changes can take up to 3 days to become effective. 

7.      What if my child loses his/her bus pass?

A replacement bus pass may be issued in one of the following ways. If a student loses his/her bus pass he/she will need to notify the school main office. The office staff will contact the transportation office, and a new pass will be sent out. The child’s parent/guardian may contact the transportation office to advise of a lost pass. Once notified, a new pass will be sent out by mail by the transportation office.

8.      How do I find out whether schools will close, have a delayed opening, or early release on days when the weather is inclement?

Log onto the main page of the North Brunswick Board of Education web site.

http://www.nbtschools.org

Or

Listen to WCTC (1450 AM), WMGQ ( 98.3 FM) or NJ 101.5 ( 101.5 FM) radio stations.

       Or

Watch WABC TV or News 12 New Jersey.

       Or

Call 732 – 289 – 3000 and press 1 for closing announcements.

9.      What time will the bus arrive when there is a delayed opening?

A delayed opening pickup is 90 minutes later than the regularly scheduled school time. Buses will pick up students at their regularly assigned stop 90 minutes, (1-1/2 hrs), later than the regularly scheduled stop time.

10.     How do late bus runs work at Linwood and the High School?

Late run buses are courtesy buses provided to take home students who participate in club activities, sports, detention, or extra help from teachers after the regular school day. Late buses for the High School start the 3 rd week of September and end after the 1 st week of May. Late buses for Linwood start last week in September and end after the 1 st   week in June times are as follows:

High School

4:15 p.m.

Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays


6:00 p.m.

Monday through Friday


Linwood Middle School

4:00 p.m.

Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays


5:00 p.m.

Monday through Friday

Students riding 4:15 p.m. High School late bus must sign up for the bus at the security booth in the main lobby. Students riding the 4:00 p.m. Linwood late buses must sign up for the bus at the front office. They will receive a bus pass when they sign up. Students without a bus pass will not be allowed on the bus.

Late buses do not follow the regular to and from school day stops. Buses stop at localized stops in the township to let the greatest number of students off the bus in the shortest possible time. Late bus run times may be longer than to and from school day routes.

A copy of each late bus route is posted at the front office of both Linwood and the High School.

11.        What are the requirements necessary to obtain a bus driver’s license?

Bus drivers have a special license called a, "CDL", (Commercial Drivers License). Applicants for a bus driver license must have a safe driving record with no criminal convictions, pass a special CDL physical, pass a pre-employment drug and alcohol test, have fingerprints taken for both State and Federal review, have a promise of employment from a school district or a contractor, and take a written test before obtaining a driving permit. The written test requires applicants to have knowledge of bus inspection, pupil safety, and braking procedures.

Driver applicants are then required to have 30 hours of behind the wheel training, learn how to complete a pre-trip inspection, and take a driving test in the vehicle they will be using.

Once all of this has been completed and the license has been issued, drivers are required to be part of yearly random drug and alcohol testing, a license review every six months, have a CDL physical every two years, and be fingerprinted every time their licenses are renewed.
 

12.        How do I know if my child’s bus is safe?

All school vehicles are required by law to undergo quarterly maintenance, (oil, fluids, brakes, etc.), and a twice yearly 900 point State Inspection by the Department of Motor Vehicles. The inspection process not only includes the bus, but all paper work associated with the vehicle, (purchases for parts and fluids, repair requests and result of repair, review of quarterly maintenance records, and all driver records).

Buses either get a new 6-month sticker, a 30-day repair notice, or a red sticker which means that the bus is off the road. Board of Education vehicles have always passed inspection with a new 6-month sticker.

Your cooperation is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having a highly successful and safe school year.

Ray Kuehner     -    Supervisor of Transportation     (732)   289-3026